dIALOGues, reALLY matteRS – II

Some of my favorite dialogues from world movies (translated in English).

La Strada
The Fool: I am ignorant, but I read books. You won’t believe it, everything is useful… this pebble for instance.
Gelsomina: Which one?
The Fool: Anyone. It is useful.
Gelsomina: What for?
The Fool: For… I don’t know. If I knew I’d be the Almighty, who knows all. When you are born and when you die… Who knows? I don’t know for what this pebble is useful but it must be useful. For if its useless, everything is useless. So are the stars!

Nuovo cinema Paradiso
Alfredo: Living here day by day, you think it’s the center of the world. You believe nothing will ever change. Then you leave: a year, two years. When you come back, everything’s changed. The thread’s broken. What you came to find isn’t there. What was yours is gone. You have to go away for a long time… many years… before you can come back and find your people. The land where you were born. But now, no. It’s not possible. Right now you’re blinder than I am.
Salvatore: Who said that? Gary Cooper? James Stewart? Henry Fonda? Eh?
Alfredo: No, Toto. Nobody said it. This time it’s all me. Life isn’t like in the movies. Life… is much harder.

Fa Yeung nin wa
Chow Mo-wan: In the old days, if someone had a secret they didn’t want to share… you know what they did?
Ah Ping: Have no idea.
Chow Mo-wan: They went up a mountain, found a tree, carved a hole in it, and whispered the secret into the hole. Then they covered it with mud. And leave the secret there forever.
Ah Ping: What a pain! I’d just go to get laid.
Chow Mo-wan: Not everyone’s like you.

Iruvar
Tamilselvan: This is power. Lenin, Stalin, Hitler were earned this power to reach near the people.
Anandan: But I am just an actor
Tamilselvan: They didn’t think so. Look at them, they carved your face in their heart. They will sacrifice their lives for you. what are going to do with this power?
Anandan: What should i do?
Tamilselvan: We should increase this thousand times to spread our political ideology. That depends upon your face and the silver screen.

La battaglia di Algeri
Ben M’Hidi: Jaffar says you weren’t in favor of the strike.
Ali La Pointe: No, I wasn’t.
Ben M’Hidi: Why not?
Ali La Pointe: Because we were ordered not to use arms.
Ben M’Hidi: Acts of violence don’t win wars. Neither wars nor revolutions. Terrorism is useful as a start. But then, the people themselves must act. That’s the rationale behind this strike: to mobilize all Algerians, to assess our strength.

Tahader Katha
Mohitosh: We have a worse kingdom…a kingdom of caterpillars. Crawling all over and under the throne. For just alittle gain, They eat each other’s vomit. I ran away. They came to tempt me, But i was afraid i would change if i stayed . Someday our countrymen will release. I still believe it.
Shibnath Mukherjee: But how far can you run? I also wanted to run away. I heard about partition when i was in jail. We didn’t understand a thing. I went out of mind. I sat up in a tree and thought that. At least a tree doesn’t have to have a country

Aguirre, der Zorn Gottes
Don Lope de Aguirre: I, the wrath of God, will marry my own daughter and with her I’ll found the purest dynasty the earth has ever seen.

Thoovanathumbikal
Clara: Rather than roaming around, it would’ve been nice if we could find a place to stay
Jayakrishnan: How is that possible?
Clara: A verandah & a soothing breeze. I can’t stay in rooms anymore. Earlier i used to hate my life, now i hate rooms. Walls! walls everywhere. The walls of bedroom, side room and bathroom. Walls everywhere. When i leave those walls, i see walls in the moving cars and trains.

Dweepa
Nagi: Living in the jungle has turned you into a beast

Raye makhfi
Girl: I didn’t take your vote. Here’s a pen and a ballot.
Soldier: What for?
Girl: Don’t you want to vote?
(soldier wrote a name in the ballot)
Soldier: here
Girl: (after seeing the name in the ballot) But i am not a candidate
Soldier: i thought voting was by secret ballot!
Girl: You know how it works. You’ve seen it all day. You choose two candidates people you know. Then write their names.
Soldier: But i only know you. No one else.

Amator
Filip Mosz: I met Zanussi
Irka Mosz: And?
Filip Mosz: He’s going to come to visit our club. He told us why he makes films
Irka Mosz: Why?
Filip Mosz: I don’t know how to explain it. It’s complicated

This entry was posted in Frames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

