dIALOGues, reALLY matteRS

My favorite English movie dialogues.

BEFORE SUNRISE
Jesse: There’s these breeds of monkeys, right, and all they do is have sex, all the time, you know? And they turn out to be the least violent, the most peaceful, the most happy, you know? So maybe fooling around isn’t so bad.
Celine: Are you talking about monkeys?
Jesse: Yes I’m talking about monkeys.
Celine: Ah, I thought so…

THE GODFATHER, PART II
Michael Corleone:
I saw a strange thing today. Some rebels were being arrested. One of them pulled the pin on a grenade. He took himself and the captain of the command with him. Now, soldiers are paid to fight; the rebels aren’t.
Hyman Roth: What does that tell you?
Michael Corleone: It means they could win.

THE NOTEBOOK
Young Noah: If you’re a bird I’m a bird.

PULP FICTION
Jules: Well, the way they make shows is, they make one show. That show’s called a pilot. Then they show that show to the people who make shows, and on the strength of that one show they decide if they’re going to make more shows. Some pilots get picked and become television programs. Some don’t, become nothing. She starred in one of the ones that became nothing.

INDISCREET
Philip: Oh, I tell you. Women are not the sensitive sex. That’s one of the grand delusions of literature. Men are the true romanticists.

NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN
Anton Chigurh
: And you know what’s going to happen now. You should admit your situation. There would be more dignity in it.
Carson Wells: You go to hell.
Anton Chigurh: Let me ask you something. If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?
Carson Wells: Do you have any idea how goddamn crazy you are?
Anton Chigurh: You mean the nature of this conversation?
Carson Wells: I mean the nature of you.

INTO THE WILD
Christopher McCandless: You know, about getting out of this sick society. Society!
Wayne Westerberg: [coughs] Society! Society!
Christopher McCandless: Society, man! You know, society! Cause, you know what I don’t understand? I don’t understand why people, why every fucking person is so bad to each other so fucking often. It doesn’t make sense to me. Judgment. Control. All that, the whole spectrum. Well, it just…
Wayne Westerberg: What “people” we talking about?
Christopher McCandless: You know, parents, hypocrites, politicians, pricks.
Wayne Westerberg: [taps Chris’ head] This is a mistake. It’s a mistake to get too deep into all that kind of stuff. Alex, you’re a hell of a young guy, a hell of a young guy. But I promise you this. You’re a young guy! Can’t be juggling blood and fire all the time!
[laughs]

WHO’S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF
Nick: Who did the painting?
George: Some Greek with a mustache Martha attacked one night.
Nick: It’s got a…
George: Quiet intensity?
Nick: Well, no, a…
George: Well then, a certain noisy relaxed quality maybe?
Nick: No, what I meant was…
George: How about a quietly noisy relaxed intensity?

APOCALYPTO
Zero Wolf: When I catch him, I will peel his skin and have him watch me wear it.

THERE WILL BE BLOOD
H.M. Tilford: How’s your boy?
Plainview: Thank you for asking.
H.M. Tilford: Is there anything we can do?
Plainview: “Thanks for asking” is enough.

AWAKENINGS
Leonard Lowe: It’s quiet.
Dr. Malcolm Sayer: Yes, everybody’s sleeping.
Leonard Lowe: I’m not.

GOOD WILL HUNTING
Sean: Do you have a soul mate?
Will: Define that.
Sean: Someone you can relate to, someone who opens things up for you.
Will: Sure, I got plenty.
Sean: Well, name them.
Will: Shakespeare, Nietzsche, Frost, O’Conner…
Sean: Well that’s great. They’re all dead.
Will: Not to me, they’re not.
Sean: You can’t have a lot of dialogue with them.
Will: Not without a heater and some serious smelling salts.

FINDING FORRESTER
Jamal: Women will sleep with you if you write a book?
Forrester: Women will sleep with you if you write a bad book.

THINGS YOU CAN TELL JUST BY LOOKING AT HER
Nancy: What does your husband think about this?
Rebecca: I don’t have a husband.
Nancy: Show me your ring finger.
[Rebecca shows Nancy her left hand]
Nancy: Are you a lesbian?

THE SQUID AND THE WHALE
Bernard Berkman: She’s a very risky writer, Lili. Very racy. I mean, exhibiting her cunt in that fashion is very racy. I mean Lili has her influences in post modern literature, it’s a bit derivative of Kafka, but for a student, very racy. Did you get that it was her cunt?

WE DON’T WANT LIVE HERE ANYMORE
Terry Linden: You say, “You are what you do”? Who really believes that? I mean, what does that mean? Does that mean I’m a cook, an errand runner, a fucker, a goddamn cleaning lady? Because if you, you bastard, lost all discipline and folded up, and turned drunk and got bald and lost everything, I’d love you. I love you. You, Jack.

ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO’S NEST
Dr. Spivey: Well, the real reason that you’ve been sent over here is because they wanted you to be evaluated… to determine whether or not you are mentally ill. This is the real reason. Why do you think they might think that?
McMurphy: Well, as near as I can figure out, it’s ’cause I, uh, fight and fuck too much.

SCARFACE
Tony Montana: You know what your problem is?
Elvira Hancock: What’s that?
Tony Montana: You don’t got nothing to do with your life. Why don’t you get a job? Work with lepers. Blind kids. Anything’s gotta be better than lying around all day waiting for me to fuck you.
Elvira Hancock: Don’t toot your horn, honey. You’re not that good.

MEMENTO
Natalie: Tell me about her again.
Leonard Shelby: Why?
Natalie: Because you like to remember her.
Leonard Shelby: She was beautiful. To me, she was perfect.
Natalie: No, don’t just recite the words. Close your eyes… and remember her.
Leonard Shelby: You can just feel the details. The bits and pieces you never bothered to put into words. And you can feel these extreme moments… even if you don’t want to. You put these together, and you get the feel of a person. Enough to know how much you miss them… and how much you hate the person who took them away.

BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN
Lureen Newsome: Do you think I’m going too fast? Maybe I should put on the brakes?
Jack Twist: Fast or slow, I like the direction you’re going.

ELLIE PARKER
Ellie Parker: It is the hardest decision I’ve ever had to made. Apart from whether or not to have an abortion.

GREAT EXPECTATIONS
Finn: I’m not going to tell the story the way it happened. I’m going to tell it the way I remember it.

THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION
Andy Dufresne: You know what the Mexicans say about the Pacific?
Red: No.
Andy Dufresne: They say it has no memory. That’s where I want to live the rest of my life. A warm place with no memory.

The Italian Job
Steve: Still don’t trust me?
Stella: I trust everyone. It’s the devil inside them I don’t trust.

MYSTERIOUS SKIN
Neil: And as we sat there listening to the carolers, I wanted to tell Brian it was over now and everything would be okay. But that was a lie, plus, I couldn’t speak anyway. I wish there was some way for us to go back and undo the past. But there wasn’t. There was nothing we could do. So I just stayed silent and trying to telepathically communicate how sorry I was about what had happened. And I thought of all the grief and sadness and fucked up suffering in the world, and it made me want to escape. I wished with all my heart that we could just leave this world behind. Rise like two angels in the night and magically… disappear.

This entry was posted in Frames and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

